Descriptions-Too Much, Too Little or Just Right?

I’ve noticed that I write from what I ‘see’ in my mind. I have actual scenes that play in my imagination and I write from there. I can even replay them if I need to fill in more description or a detail that is missing.

I know some of my favorite writing is very descriptive. J.R.R. Tolkien and J.K. Rowling both write very detailed descriptions which is why I think their stories have translated into movies so successfully. Everything is laid out for the reader without bogging down the story.

I’ve noticed that a lot of today’s writing lacks details in order to speed the story along. I’ve heard comments that people get bored with too much description. Sometimes I find that kind of writing lacks something. I know our imagination can fill in a lot of gaps but not all of them.

For me, really great writing still manages to get a clear picture into the reader’s head without slowing the pace of the story. Not too much or too little description. It’s a fine balancing act to get it just right and that’s a goal I strive to achieve.

3 thoughts on “Descriptions-Too Much, Too Little or Just Right?

  1. taureanw says:

    I agree & it is something I have not yet mastered 🙂
    There are authors that can manage to place me in the scene with nothing more then a couple of sentences. There are other authors I have read that will have entire pages dedicated to the scene & by the time it returns to the story I’ve totally forgotten what was going on.

  2. I agree with you about description. Not so much about Rowling’s writing being very descriptive or about the Harry Potter movies being good.

Leave a Reply

