Writer’s Vision Versus Editor’s Vision

I think like most writers I write because I have to. I also write the stories I would like to read. I’ve written a few short stories that I’m happy with and have submitted them to be published.

I’ve gotten good feedback on one story in particular but had basically the same comment from two different editors. They both liked the story but felt it needed more tension.

 This is my conundrum. I love my story the way it is. So do I change it with the hopes that it will be accepted and published? Or do I keep the story the same and keep submitting it to different publications hoping that somebody will enjoy it the way that I do?

 Now if I take my own advice about getting critiqued, I’ve learned that when more than one person makes a comment about my writing that it’s usually worth making a change. Going on that logic, then, yes, I should rework the story to add more tension.

So I have started reworking this story. Adding the necessary tension makes the story darker which will probably appeal to some readers. It is changing the entire feeling of the story. Maybe this is good for me to push my comfort zone? Is giving up on my vision or making it better?

I guess it’s a question of how badly do I want this story to be published? I’m not sure. I will continue reworking it and see how it turns out.

I am also keeping the original. At least I’ll have the story I enjoy for myself!

Has anyone else run into this and if so, how did you handle it?

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Vision Versus Editor’s Vision

  1. I say it’s a good idea to listen when more than one person says the same thing. Sometimes, as the story’s creator, it’s hard for us to see it the way everyone else does! But it’s smart of you to keep the original too.

Leave a Reply

