Writing on the Plane

I flew to Denver a few days ago and it’s about a four hour flight. I always look forward to it because I can sit uninterrupted for that time which is a rare thing. I always bring a book or two to read and have an electronic game or two to play on my itouch. And I always bring my notebook.

This trip was the first time in years that I got a window seat and no one sat in the middle seat so I had room and no chatty seatmate. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve met some interesting people over the years but this was nice.

After about an hour of reading I got out my notebook and began to write. The next thing I knew the pilot was announcing that we were about to make our final approach to the airport. I had completely lost track of time and place. It was wonderful! I haven’t done that for a while. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to get back to it but hope to when I get on my return flight. I may have written junk or it may be pretty good.

The important thing is that I lost myself in the story and am thrilled.

6 thoughts on “Writing on the Plane

  1. that was a good place to be – lost in your writing

  2. I wish I could be in that place more often!

  3. Rob says:

    Ooo, what’s the story about? Do you think it’s something you can mold into a greater piece? Sounds exciting!

  4. Ah, the beauty of no interruptions! I often fantasize about hopping on a train just to write!

Leave a Reply

