Nation by Terry Pratchett

Nation I just finished reading Nation by Terry Pratchett and loved it.

This is unlike any other book I’ve read and very different from Pratchett’s Discworld series books. There is still a bit of his wonderful humor in this book which I was happy to see.

I’m not sure why this is classified as a YA book except that the main character is a teen but this is not a book about teens. It’s a book about people and how they interact with the world they live in and each other. And it’s a book about people looking closely inside themselves without being heavy or preachy.

The story is about Mau, the main character, who survives when a giant wave washes away his village and his people; and about Daphne, a girl who lands on Mau’s island when her ship is swept there.

There are untidy grandfather birds that are native to the island and a parrot that survived the shipwreck. There are voices of ancestors and there are other people who begin to trickle onto the island. There are cannibals, royalty and sharks. This is a colorful, wonderful world that I didn’t want to leave.

I don’t want to give away any of the story but I definitely recommend it to everyone.

5 thoughts on “Nation by Terry Pratchett

  1. Patinspire says:

    http://patinspire.org/2013/03/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/ congratulations on your nomination for The Versatile Blogger Award 🙂

  2. Thank you! I’ve started to figure it out but haven’t had time. A busy week at work. I will definitely ask for your help if I have questions.

Leave a Reply

