Collecting Beautiful Words

What is it about words that we find so beautiful?

Words have a power all their own

Words have a power all their own (Photo credit: Lynne Hand)

 

 

Some people collect stamps or comic books. I collect words. When I’m reading I will stumble upon a sentence or a quote or an entire passage that resonates with my soul. I know they are special when I can’t keep reading because these words feel so delicious that I can’t concentrate on anything else until I’ve gone back to them and let them wash over me.

 

Then I have to gather up those words. I type or write them to really absorb them. Some I have saved in a special file. Many I have written carefully in a beautiful journal so that I can take them out and savor their beauty over and over again.

 

I recently looked through my journal and some of these quotes I gathered decades ago and they still resonate. They never lose their power.

 

I make sure that I record where I found these little gems that speak to me. I want to make sure that I credit the author who has given me these gifts. And I do believe they are gifts. In fact, some of them touch me so deeply that I feel they were written just for me.

 

Do you collect favorite words?

 

2 thoughts on “Collecting Beautiful Words

  1. lillian888 says:

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes, I love to collect favorite words. Arcadia. Gesticulating. Coruscate. Stygian. Hyperbolic. I am a blank journal addict, and I have one dedicated to collecting words and phrases. Congratulations on your Versatile Blogger Award!

Leave a Reply

