Thoughts About Writing

I know I’ve been too quiet here on the blog and I won’t list all of reasons why but I do apologize.

I’ve been giving a lot of thought as to why I write and while I was on vacation (one of the reasons I haven’t posted due to technical issues!) I surprised myself by not writing much at all. Usually when I have huge amounts of time I dive in and completely lose myself in writing.

This time I didn’t and I think I’ve figured out why; at least in this instance. Partly because I got to look at all of this:

Calm evening

Calm evening

Chipmunk

Chipmunk

My view

My view

Evening cattails

Evening cattails

I write mostly to prioritize my life, to make sense of the world around me and to escape from every day life.

While on this incredibly relaxing vacation I didn’t need to prioritize, make sense of anything or escape from anything. On this vacation I only wanted to be right where I was and  I was content with that. A rare feeling for me.

I observed the beautiful world around me and all of the happenings of Nature. I walked and rode my bike. And later in the week, I read for long lengths of time which is another rare luxury.

I was feeling a bit guilty but then just let it go and enjoyed those days.

Have you experienced this? And does it surprise you as much as it surprised me?

8 thoughts on “Thoughts About Writing

  1. Dad says:

    You shouldn’t worry about when you write; you write when it’s right. It seems that this was the moment, as your thoughts were great writing. Don’t count this kind of writing short; it’s a talent to express right where you are.

  2. Thank you very much.

  3. drybredquips says:

    Thanks for liking “coming or going.” Sherrie, and for those peaceful pictures above. I write all the time, anywhere I am. But it’d be harder for me to do if I tried to structure longer pieces of writing than these quips.

  4. drybredquips says:

    Glad you liked “zombies” and “on hold.” Thanks, Sherrie. Tight, short writing is all I know how to do.Best to you and your talent and energy for writing longer things.

  5. drybredquips says:

    Thanks for liking “placing,” Sherrie. Hope you’re well and writing things that get attention from publishers.

  6. I often feel like reading and relaxing is a luxury I can’t afford, but I’m wrong. Sometimes, I do my best writing after a good, relaxing departure from working towards a writing goal.

Leave a Reply

