Writing Update for July

Since I can’t come up with anything poetic or terribly creative today, I’m just going to post an update about what I’m doing with my writing. Hopefully it won’t bore you too much but it helps me keep accountable and stay on track.

In the past week I have written six poems. If you read my previous post, you will see that I have no idea if they are any good but for some reason I had to write them. 

Poetry Books

Poetry Books (Photo credit: chillihead)

I also wrote another entire scene for the longer piece of fiction that I’ve been working on for a while but had been stuck on. The reason I managed to get unstuck was because of a couple of things.

One is that I left it alone for a while to give myself time to ruminate on it. Sometimes if I just let things simmer in the back of my mind, without looking directly at it, I’ll come up with a spark that will get me going again. I wasn’t getting any sparks so unfortunately, I let it sit for longer than I had planned, but in the end this seemed to work out okay.

Second, I went to a virtual conference about teen books for work (it was pretty neat and I have to admit that I geeked out a little! See the link below to find out who was there.) and there were web casts of various authors discussing their books, their writing as well as taking questions from the participants. One of the authors said in his advice about getting un

Smiley face 2

Smiley face 2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

stuck with your writing (I really perked up at this since I felt like he was addressing my issue!) was to go back and read what you already have. Often, you will find something there that you may not have paid attention to that will show you where to go next. So that’s what I did and sure enough, I got going again! It feels good to be moving forward on that story again.

What do you do to get unstuck with your writing?

I also forced myself to do some market research. I have a short story that I thought would be a perfect match for a publication I’ve submitted to before, but discovered that they are closed to submissions right now. So, I figured it was time to explore some new places to submit to. And I did. I’ve written before about how much time this takes but it’s a necessary chore to make sure I’m sending my writing to places where it stands a chance of getting published. I don’t want to waste my time or the editors’ time at the other end. That just bogs everyone down.

Does anyone have any tips on making market research easier? Or other great places to find markets?

So that’s my update. I hope you didn’t find it too boring and maybe there was something helpful for you?

Thank you, as always, for reading.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Update for July

  1. Ana says:

    Congrats on submitting your short story! I’ve never done that, so I am curious to know how it all works out for you.

  2. drybredquips says:

    Glad you liked “smiling start,” Sherrie. Thank you. Wish I had something helpful to offer in the dismal marketplace for writing, but I don’t. All we can do is what you’re doing – continuing to put what you feel into words, and continuing to look for a place to publish it. Best to you in all your creative efforts.

Leave a Reply

