Daily Rituals How Artists Work

I’m reading a book called Daily Rituals by Mason Currey who also has a blog called Daily Routines. I’m about half way through the book and am enjoying it. I’m sure you could read it all at once, but I’m enjoying it a bit at a time; kind of savoring it. Currey_jkt-front-500px

I know creative people tend to be quirky and I accept that. I accept that I have a few quirks here and there. (Those who know me are saying ‘A few!’) But some of the people Currey has written about are very eccentric! I think my favorite so far is Patricia Highsmith and her love of snails. Not to eat. To breed!

One of the things I keep seeing repeated is how focused many of these creative people are. Many of them focus on their art to the exclusion of everything else in their lives. And I’m amazed at how the people around them catered to their wishes.

One of the things I find reassuring is how varied the rituals, routines and lives are of the people featured in this book. It just proves that there is no one right way to achieve your creative goals. You just have to do what works for you and your life.

Not everyone has servants or partners who take care of all of their needs day in and day out. Many of us are trying to create while taking care of everyone else’s needs! Most of us are just trying to make ends meet.

What I’m taking away from this book is that no matter how busy we get, we will always make time for the things we are passionate about. Somehow it gets done. Maybe we don’t get to do as much as we had hoped, but better than not doing it at all and living a very empty life.

So hang in there and keep creating! If for no other reason than to live a more fulfilling life!

Do you have any rituals or routines that you do for your art?

3 thoughts on “Daily Rituals How Artists Work

  1. Wordwrights says:

    Reblogged this on Wordwrights' Blog.

  2. LillianC says:

    I keep mementos of happy events and distant friends on my desk along with photos of my sons. That way, no matter what my state of mind when I sit down to work, I’ll see something that will bring a surge of good feeling. Sometimes it takes quite a stroll down Memory Lane to get me where I need to go, but I do get there.

Leave a Reply

