When a Story Takes on a Life of Its Own

I’ve been working on a story for a while now. When I say working, I mean I’ve been putting together the characters, their names, and a general outline. I know how the story will end. I know key scenes. I was piecing it together a bit at a time.I do that when working on a longer piece until I reach a point when the story seems to come together. I can see the characters clearly and hear their voices. I know where I want them to go but I don’t know all the details of how they will get there.

Suddenly I reach a point when the characters start to do things or say things I hadn’t planned on. This is the greatest pleasure in writing fiction for me. I just need to stay with them and hope I can type fast enough to keep up. To me this is magical. I’ve been here in my writing before and will ride along as long as it lasts.

I used to think this was a bit crazy but have since read about and talked with other writers who experience this same thing. I think this is the equivalent to when athletes say they are in the zone. I think this is a writer’s zone.

For now, I will get back to my story but I have to wonder if any of you have experienced this?

 

3 thoughts on “When a Story Takes on a Life of Its Own

  1. Sue Hlousek says:

    Wow, what a sweet spot!!

  2. chornung88 says:

    Yes, yes, yes. One of the things I love about writing is looking at something I wrote – and not really remembering I wrote it! Did I do that? Huh. Cool. That’s when you’re writing with passion. Love it.

Leave a Reply

