Winter: Enjoying It, Kind Of

Winter is probably my least favorite season of the year. I enjoy it more when I can stay home and don’t have to navigate the slippery roads. I don’t even mind shoveling that much when I can take my time and enjoy that special peaceful quiet that is part of a gentle snowfall or after a big snowstorm.

I am really trying to stay positive despite all the snow and ice we had in December.

Ice-covered

Ice-covered

 

And I’m still looking for the beauty despite the frigid cold we’ve had and lots more snow we’ve gotten this month.

Holly Berries

Holly Berries

 

 

 

 

 

 

I do find this icicle beautiful and amazing.

Cool curved icicle

Cool curved icicle

I wrote a poem about winter that I was going to post but it in rereading it just now, it’s very dark. Definitely not a happy poem.

A friend of mine wrote a great poem about winter that pretty accurately describes how I feel about it at this point. I just reread it on his blog and it still makes me laugh, so please visit here  to read it.

I also really enjoyed these photos from one of my favorite blogs. He managed to capture winter beauty as he always does. Please check out his blog too for a lift.

In the meantime, I am enjoying staying cozy inside. I’ve read a few really good books. I’m drinking a lot of green tea which is supposed to be healthy for you. And I am finally getting back to my writing which I have let sit idle for too long but sometimes I just have to do that. Don’t you?

What do you do to make winter more enjoyable?

One thought on “Winter: Enjoying It, Kind Of

  1. I think you know that I now love winter more than any other season because it is so beautiful – and I can no longer stand the heat! I just bundle up and take long walks to enjoy the scenery. Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

