The Gift of This Day

I rarely take a day like this and I am very grateful for it.  I hope you can take a little time to relax and enjoy the gifts of your day.

 

The gift of this day

is not lost upon me.

The entire day to do as

I please.

Despite the gentle prodding

of the shoulds.

I am gently pushing them

back,

for now.

 

I am balancing the first

load of laundry

now hung on the line

with the pure pleasure

of reading poetry

from a borrowed book

while sitting on my porch.

 

The screen allowing me

to relax with no fear

of an insect’s bite.

The luxury of watching

Nature float, twitter,

flutter, and inch by

like the words

that land here

on the page.

 

I am immensely

grateful for

the gift of this day.

Leave a Reply

