Put Another Log on the Fire

This beautiful post says exactly what I feel this holiday season. Please enjoy.

On the Homefront

My newspaper column for this week:

Ten days before Christmas. By the time you read this, the timeline will have shifted. Sounds ominous doesn’t it? Remember when we were kids and ten days was a lifetime, and Christmas seemed to take its jolly time to get here? I read an explanation the other day about why as we get older things seem to move faster—something about events no longer being new to us so we experience them at a faster pace. I am sure that explanation makes sense to someone somewhere, but it did not really resonate with me.

I do find that different things have become more important to me over the years. Things I would have glossed over or not paid any particular attention to when I was younger. As I get older, I may not get wiser, but I do find myself being more reflective and more…

View original post 617 more words

2 thoughts on “Put Another Log on the Fire

  1. thanks for reblogging–I am honoured

Leave a Reply

