When is a Weed Not a Weed?

It has been hot and the older I get the less I enjoy a hot humid day so my gardens don’t get the attention they should.

The other day I finally grabbed a bucket, gloves and pruners and set out to clean up and weed my gardens. I have one garden that is in the far back corner of the yard and has been looking very nice from the house so I assumed it would be a weedy mess when I got up close.

To my surprise, I discovered that two kinds of weeds had grown in between the perennials I planted. That there were weeds didn’t surprise me but what I found amazing is that these two weeds have filled in and layered themselves into a beautiful garden!

Being the garden geek that I am I looked up what kinds of weeds they are. I have a terrific weed reference book called Weeds of the Northeast written by Richard H. Uva, Joseph C. Neal and Joseph M. DiTomaso. If you ever want to know what is growing in your yard, I highly recommend this book. 

From what I can tell the weeds are Virginia copperleaf and Pennsylvania smartweed. The copperleaf plants are taller and are growing further back towards the middle where the Disco Belle hibiscus is. And the Pennsylvania smartweed fills in down to the edge of the garden and is full of tiny pink spike-like clusters which accent the hibiscus. The dark green textured leaves of the copperleaf is setting apart the light gray-green foliage of the Russian sage.

I couldn’t have planned it to look any better. This garden has taken care of itself and has that nice natural look that I love. What a wonderful gift.

Mother Nature knows what she’s doing when we let her.

So when is a weed not a weed? When two weeds have grown in harmony with the garden.

2 thoughts on “When is a Weed Not a Weed?

  1. Doug Hlousek says:

    Nature has its ways! Am going to look into the book. Might help with IDs on my Beach Rambles.

Leave a Reply

