Writing Levels

I know I go off on a variety of tangents and subjects in this blog but I realize that I need to get back to writing. I need to do more writing in general. I have discovered that when real life demands my full attention my writing gets pushed into the background. And that I usually suffer for not getting words onto the page.

I have discovered through the years a few things about my writing habits.

The first thing is that I have to write. I’ve tried giving it up, repeatedly, when life gets crazy. I know that writing is the way I put life into perspective. Writing is how I work through things good and bad.

The most direct way I work through things is by keeping a journal. That is the most shallow writing I do but it allows me to get my monkey mind under control. Do most writers have overactive minds? When too many ideas and feelings have built up I have to write it out. It usually comes out with no order (kind of like this post) but if I keep writing eventually the really important things make themselves known and the rest I can let go of. Journal writing is the one form of writing I am consistent about. I think it’s self-preservation.

Writing fiction or as children say, making things up, is a more indirect way of dealing with things but a creative way to explore. And safe. Instead of taking out anger on someone I can create a fictional scene and work things out that way. And the opposite of that is taking a negative situation and creating a positive scene to replace the real one. It makes me remember what it was like as a child when I would play by acting out feelings. That does wonders for my state of mind. Everyone should remember how to make believe.

When my mind is in a calm state, then I can get into pure creativity. That’s when I do my best creative writing. It’s when poetry comes to mind and words and ideas flow easily. A calm mind is when I will write something that is so crystal clear and alive in my imagination that it feels real. Sometimes more real than real life. And on the opposite of that I have written things that I will go back and read some time after having written it and be surprised. I wrote that?! Wow!

Now that I’m getting more settled into my new home and life I hope to be able to get to a calm state of mind and back to my creative writing. I have at least two stories that I have left hanging for a very long time. The characters are waiting patiently for me to have space for them again. I’m getting there.

How about you? Do you have different levels of writing? Or do you use your writing in different ways? Does it help you deal with life or are you able to completely separate your writing life from whatever is going on day to day?

I find the process, desire and need to write fascinating. I would love to hear your thoughts about it.

2 thoughts on “Writing Levels

  1. I completely agree with writers having overactive minds! Sometimes, I cannot even fall asleep because so many thoughts and ideas are going through my head that I have to write them down to free myself. My mind never stops working. It is always trying to think of new things to write about. I’m pretty sure all writers go through this.

  2. Dad says:

    Monkey mind?

    So, you disappeared into fantasy when you were younger, and didn’t express your feelings. At least you have the ability to do that! My writing is taking facts and making them easier for others to understand, or at least I think I do. Do words flow? Not into fantasy, poetry, or characters. Tried to do that and nothing happens. Random thoughts work! I gather together facts. Those are what I use. However, I seem to always find a way to say it better, and sometimes get bogged down! I guess my style is journalistic.

    Anyhow, keep it up. You have the ability, and hone it!

Leave a Reply

