Adjusting To Old Fashioned Sundays

Around here just about everything is closed on Sundays. I remember everything being closed on Sundays when I was a kid. I think this is a good thing. Having one day a week to focus on what is important in life, revisit your spiritual beliefs, visiting with friends, neighbors and family, or just relaxing seems to be almost a thing of the past.

Not here. It has taken some time to get used to the idea that if I want to run to the store for something, then I have to plan on driving further and it taking longer. And I will have to deal with the traffic and all the other shoppers rushing to get things done before the day is done.

Around here the Amish celebrate Sundays with church and visiting. So driving around is slower. More buggies to pass. Lots more.

But you know what? It’s really nice to be able to slow down, take in the sites you would miss while driving at full speed. Like seeing Amish families all together at one farm, dressed up in their Sunday finest, talking, eating and playing.

I seem to be changing my thinking about the day. Most of the time I stay home. Just knowing that I don’t have to go anywhere and thinking about it being Sunday makes me relax and prioritize in a way I don’t the rest of the week.

Sometimes family or friends visit. Sometimes we go visit them. This is a really nice way to spend the day before the rush of the work week is back.

I think everyone would benefit from this, don’t you?

5 thoughts on “Adjusting To Old Fashioned Sundays

  1. Karen Compary says:

    Nice to see you are happy in your new surroundings. I totally agree that Sunday should be for people to do what they want to do but not shopping. Everyone needs time to recharge. Family, friends, church, whatever is a nice way to spend a Sunday.

  2. Doug Hlousek says:

    You’ve got it! Almost never shop on Sundays; just too hectic out there! Enjoy every one of them!

  3. Great piece! Keep up reflecting on life that is rapidly drifting away.

  4. walttriznastories says:

    Reblogged this on Walttriznastories's Blog.

  5. purpldragon says:

    Yes I think that it is important for people to have time to relax instead of being contantly on the go.

Leave a Reply

